You are here:   Cambria > Books > History of St. Augustine's Church
Cambria Header
History of St. Augustine

26 History of Parish of St. Augustine, St. Augustine, Pa.


of Somerset and Bedford, seventeen miles until a due west line will strike the main branch of Paint Creek; thence down said creek to Stony Creek; thence down Stony Creek to the mouth of Mill Creek; thence due west to Somerset and Westmoreland County line; thence northerly along said line to the place of beginning - the county seat to be not more than seven miles from the geographical center of the county.

     This outline took in from Somerset County all of Conemaugh Township which had been formed in 1803, north of the southern line of Cambria County and all of Cambria Township which extended to the "Dividing Ridge" between the headwaters of the Little Conemaugh and Conemaugh, on the south and those of the West Branch of the Susquehanna, Chest Creek and Clearfield Creek on the north.

     The township of Allegheny comprised all of Cambria County taken in from Huntingdon County north of the "Dividing Ridge," mentioned. It was the western part of Allegheny Township, Huntingdon County, which had been taken in in 1793 from part of Frankstown township, which had been merged with Huntingdon County when that County was formed in 1787. Frankstown township was formed by order of the Quarter Sessions court of Bedford County, in 1775.

     By act of the Pennsylvania Legislature, March 29, 1805, the county seat of Cambria County was fixed at Ebensburg. Cambria County, at the same session, was annexed to Somerset County for election purposes.

     At the first election, held in 1805, the name of Demetrius Augustine Gallitzin appeared as one of the election officers signing the returns.

     Some say that Father Gallitzin wished the county seat to be fixed at Loretto; but others say that he did not desire to have court held amongst his people.

     A tradition that the town of Munster was a rival with Ebensburg and Beulah for county seat is probably not well founded, for Munster was laid out by Edward V. James in 1806, while Ebensburg became the county seat in 1805.

     James was the first Prothonotary of Cambria County, and at one time the leader of the opposition to Father Gallitzin and went to Bishop Carroll with a letter against his pastor. That prelate reproached him for his conduct; or

Previous page Title Page Image Index Next page

Last Updated:
Copyright 2002, All Rights Reserved
Lynne Canterbury, Diann Olsen and contributors